How to Delete Your Facebook Account

Advertisements
Sponsored by Partners

Facebook allows its users to delete their account and their data or temporarily deactivate their Facebook account. This is why they provided the option of deleting or deactivating your account.

If for some reason you choose to deactivate your account, Facebook will allow you to reactivate it whenever you want. This means that you can access your photos, videos, friends, and groups again. If you deactivate your account, your friends and other people on the platform can’t see your timeline or find your account in a search unless you reactivate the account.

READ ALSO: How to Delete Your Tik Tok Account.

Some things may remain visible (for example private messages you have sent to friends, pages, and other people).
You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. You’ll need to have access to the email or phone number you use to log in. You will also need your password (just like you usually do when logging into the site) to complete the reactivation.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account in 5 Simple Steps

  1. Click in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  4. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Choose Deactivate Account, then
  6. Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.

SEE ALSO: How to Delete Your Snapchat Account.

Advertisements

After deactivation, If you still have your Messenger app installed and logged in:

Advertisements
Sponsored by Partners
  1. You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
  2. Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
  3. Other people can search for you to send you a message within Messanger.

But If You Deleted your Facebook Account:

  1. You won’t be able to reactivate your account. (Because Facebook deleted your user data upon your request. See N0#2)
  2. You will have only 30 days to cancel your account deletion request. After 30 days, you won’t be able to access your account or retrieve any information from it.
  3. Your profile, photos, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted.
  4. You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
  5. You won’t be able to use your Facebook login for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify or Instagram. You may need to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
  6. Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account.
  7. Copies of messages you have sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.

READ ALSO: How to Delete Your WhatsApp Account.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account:

  1. Navigate to Facebook.Com and log into your account.
  2. Click in the top right of Facebook.
  3. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  4. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  5. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  6. Choose Permanently Delete Account then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  7. Click Delete Account, enter your password to confirm your decision and click Continue.

Kindly note that Facebook will process your Account Deletion request right away but will give you 30 days to undo your request in case you change your mind.

Frequently Asked Questions About Deleting Facebook Account

Question: Will I lose all my pictures?

Answer: Yes, You will lose all your pictures, including the posts you made on your timeline, groups, and pages.

Question: Will I lose my Facebook Pages?

Answer: Yes, You will lose your role as an admin of the group or pages you author. To prevent this, you can make a trusted friend or person an admin of the page or group.

SEE ALSO: How to Delete Your Instagram Account.

Question: Will I Be Able to Join Facebook Again in The Future?

Answer: Yes, you can join Facebook again anytime you wish but you will have to start as a new user.

Question: Will Facebook Delete My Account Data Permanently?

Advertisements

Answer: Yes, Facebook gives you 30 days to reconsider your decision to delete your account. When this elapses, all your Facebook account data would be permanently deleted without any prior notice.

Advertisements
Sponsored by Partners
close